What is the change? Azerbaijan has extended the validity period for visas issued through its E-visa program to 90 days.

What does the change mean? Effective immediately, nationals of 81 countries may obtain E-visas valid for 90 days. The visas are valid for a single entry, and the maximum duration of stay is 30 days.

  • Implementation time frame: Immediate and ongoing.
  • Who is affected: Nationals of the 81 designated countries applying for visitor visas.
  • Impact on processing times: The processing of E-visas takes three business days, significantly faster than the time it takes to obtain a visa through an Azerbaijani consulate.
  • Next steps: Additional details are available on the government’s E-visa website.

Background: Azerbaijan launched its E-visa program in January and recently announced that the visa validity period would be extended from 30 to 90 days. Nationals of the following 81 countries are eligible:

Click here to view table.

BAL Analysis: The extended visa validity will allow for greater flexibility when planning travel to Azerbaijan. However, E-visa holders are reminded that the maximum duration of stay (30 days) has not changed and that the visas are only valid for a single entry. Travelers should also note that productive work activities are not permitted and would require a work permit.