The Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (“Ministry”) and its General Directorate for Renewable Energy implemented a unique procedure for areas with solar and wind energy resources called the Regulation for Renewable Energy Resource Areas (Yenilenebilir Enerji Kaynakları Alanları, “YEKA”), which was published in the Official Gazette dated 9 October 2016 and numbered 29852.

With respect to the YEKA, two tenders (one for wind and one for solar energy resources) have already been held in the past year.

Upcoming Tenders

In addition to the abovementioned tenders, the Turkish Government has announced two further YEKA tenders – one wind and one solar project.

The tender announcement for the YEKA Offshore Wind Power Farm was published in the Official Gazette in Turkey on June 21, 2018. For more information, please see our Law-Now article dated 03.07.2018.

The related YEKA will be the Turkey's first and the world's largest offshore wind farm. It is expected to yield investment of USD 2-3 billion. The wind farm should start generating electricity in 2023 – coinciding with the 100-year jubilee of the Republic of Turkey – with a total capacity of 1,200 MW. Saroz/Province of Gelibolu, Enez, Keşan/Province of Edirne, Kıyıköy, Vize/Province of Kırklareli and Şarköy/Province of Tekirdağ are among the nominee areas for the offshore wind energy tender. Bids will be accepted until midnight, 23 October 2018.

Erzin/Province of Hatay, Bor/Province of Nigde and Şanlıurfa are among the nominee areas for the solar energy tender. Bids will be accepted for the solar energy tender until 12 a.m., 23 October 2018.

In addition to the abovementioned, the Ministry announced the following revisions on the Official Gazette dated September 29, 2018. According to this latest announcement, the areas of YEKA to be based on solar energy have been determined as follows:

  • Bor/Province of Nigde
  • Viranşehir/Province of Şanlıurfa
  • Erzin/Province of Hatay
  • Toprakkale/ Province of Osmaniye
  • Ceyhan/Province of Adana

In addition, the areas of YEKA to be based on wind energy have been determined as follows:

  • Enez,Keşan/Province of Edirne
  • Vize, Demirköy/Province of Kırklareli
  • Kangal/ Province of Sivas
  • Gürün/Province of Sivas
  • Karapınar/ Province of Konya
  • Tepebaşı/Province of Eskişehir

On a separate but related note, some of the mentioned areas have already been nominees for the wind and solar energy projects. The importance of the Ministry’s decree is that nominated areas have been announced as “YEKA” and thus the edge coordinates, and borders of the said areas have been concretized as of 29 September 2018.

In relation to the abovementioned, the details regarding the solar tender were announced on the Official Gazette dated 5 October 2018. According to the announcement, three (3) separate tenders will be held for the right to use the designated areas within the YEKA for thirty (30) years. One tender will allocate 500 MW in the Viranşehir district of Şanlıurfa, one tender 200 MW in the Erzin district of Hatay and one 300 MW in the Bor district of Niğde.

The deadline for application is 31 January 2019 and applicants will be notified about the details of the tender (place, date etc.) at a later date. In addition, the initial ceiling price for the tenders will be 6.5 USD-cents per kilowatt hour and the energy purchase period will be fifteen (15) years from the date of signing the YEKA Usage Right Agreement.