On November 4, Massachusetts voters approved Ballot Question 4, which makes Massachusetts the third state in the nation to guarantee paid sick time to employees. Under the new law, Massachusetts employers, including banks, must allow employees to accrue one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of sick time per calendar year. The new law will be effective July 1, 2015.
Nutter Notes: Employers with 11 or more employees (including both part-time and full-time employees) must treat this sick time as paid time off; employers with 10 or fewer employees can provide the sick time as unpaid time off. An employee may carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time to the next calendar year, but employers may limit an employee’s use of sick time to 40 hours in a calendar year. Employers are not required to pay employees for any accrued but unused paid sick time at the termination of an employee’s employment.