On Thursday, November 20, 2014, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the designation of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone. Citizens and nationals of these countries who presently reside in the United States may apply for TPS and work authorization.

The DHS made the decision to designate these countries for TPS on account of the widespread Ebola outbreak these countries currently battle.

Effective tomorrow, November 21st, and for a period of 18 months, citizens and nationals of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone will be permitted to remain in the United States, even after their original immigration status expires or has already expired. The 180-day registration period begins tomorrow, and ends on May 20, 2015.

In order to qualify for TPS, applicants must have been continuously present in the United States since November 21, 2014, and must undergo appropriate security and background checks prior to approval for TPS.