Marvin Kaplan was sworn in today to his seat on the National Labor Relations Board. Mr. Kaplan was confirmed by the Senate on August 2, 2017, and will serve a term which lasts until August of 2020.

According to the Board’s press release:

Board Member Kaplan has selected James R. Murphy to serve as his Acting Chief Counsel. Mr. Murphy most recently served as Chief Counsel to Member Harry I. Johnson, III, and before that to Member Brian Hayes and Member Peter Schaumber. He began his career at the Board as a student law clerk in 1974, and has been was a staff counsel or supervisor on the staffs of dozens of Board members. Mr. Murphy earned his B.A. degree from Princeton University in 1972 and a J.D. from the American University Washington College of Law in 1976.

Board Chairman Philip A. Miscimarra welcomed Kaplan to the Board, noting “It is my pleasure to welcome Marvin E. Kaplan to the National Labor Relations Board. He has devoted his career to public service. My colleagues and I look forward to working with Member Kaplan.

Chairman Miscimarra officially announced this week that he will not seek a second term when his current term expires in December 2017. The continuing pendency of William Emanuel’s nomination to the Board’s final seat, and the Chair’s eventual vacancy, provide some uncertainty for the prospects of a stable Republican majority on the Board throughout the near future.