Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) introduced legislation (S. 1764) October that extends and modifies the Advanced Energy Project Credit. The Grow it Here, Make it Here initiative would provide a 30 percent tax credit for new, expanded, or re-equipped biomanufacturing products.

The following day, Senators Jon Tester (D-MT) and Jim Risch (R-ID) introduced legislation (S. 1775) that streamlines permitting for renewable energy projects on public lands. The Public Lands Renewable Energy Development Act will create a leasing pilot project to help create clear development process that treats renewable energy similar to traditional sources of energy.

Congressman Bill Flores (R-TX) introduced legislation (H.R. 3306) to repeal the Advanced Technology Vehicle Manufacturing Department of Energy loan program. Congress funded the ATVM program at $7.5 billion in September 2008 to support up to $25 billion in loans, but the program currently has $4 billion in unused funding.

Congressman Dave Reichert (R-WA) introduced legislation (H.R. 3307) to extend the renewable energy credit. The American Renewable Energy Production Tax Credit Extension Act would provide a four year extension of the existing Section 45 production tax credits for wind, biomass, geothermal, small irrigation, landfill gas, trash, and hydropower.

Congressman Mike Pompeo (R-KS) introduced legislation (H.R. 3308) to terminate energy tax subsidies and lower the corporate income tax rate. The Energy Freedom and Economic Prosperity Act, if enacted, would permanently end all taxpayer subsidies for the energy industry.

Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR) introduced the EV Charge and Ride Act (S. 1797) November 3. The EV CAR Act would allow states to build electric vehicle charging stations in new or existing park and ride facilities to help boost deployment of EVs and facilitate carpooling.

The same day, Senator Mike Johanns (R-NE) introduced legislation (S. 1805) to prohibit the Environmental Protection Agency Administrator from rejecting or otherwise determining to be inadequate a state implementation plan in any case in which the state submitting the plan has not been given at least two years to develop and submit the plan in accordance with the Clean Air Act.

Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) introduced legislation (S. 1807) to amend the Federal Nonnuclear Energy Research and Development Act of 1974 to provide for the prioritization, coordination, and streamlining of energy research, development, and demonstration programs to meet current and future energy needs.

On November 3, Representative Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI) introduced the Federal Accounting of Renewable Energy Act (H.R. 3331); the legislation requires independent audits of all renewable energy loan guarantees as well as independent reviews for all future loans.

On November 4, Representative Lisa Sanchez (D-CA) introduced the American Microturbine Manufacturing and Clean Energy Deployment Act that will boost the investment tax credit for microturbines from 10 percent to 30 percent.