The U.S. Senate confirmed the nominations of Kevin McIntyre and Richard Glick to join the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”) on November 2, 2017. McIntyre will serve as Chairman, replacing current Acting Chairman Neil Chatterjee, who will remain a Commissioner.

McIntyre, co-leader of the global Energy Practice at the law firm Jones Day, will serve out the remainder of a term that ends June 2018 and a full term that ends June 2023. Glick, general counsel for the Democrats on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, will serve out the remainder of a term that ends in June 2022.

The confirmations of McIntyre and Glick give FERC a full slate of Commissioners for the first time in over two years. Their confirmations come at an especially contentious and important time at FERC, as the new Commissioners are expected to be in place in time rule on the Department of Energy’s controversial proposed rule on grid resilience. During their confirmation hearings, both McIntyre and Glick emphasized that they would seek to maintain the independence of the commission, as well as its "fuel neutral" outlook.

“The importance of [baseload] resources cannot be denied,” said McIntyre during his Senate confirmation hearing. “However, FERC is not an entity whose role includes choosing fuels for the generation of electricity. FERC’s role rather is to ensure that the markets for the electricity generated by those facilities proceed in accordance with law.”

FERC is expected to take action on the Department of Energy’s proposed rule by the end of 2017.