By Resolution No. 249 effective from 6 June 2012, the Board of the National Bank of Belarus set the minimum amount of authorised capital for newly established banks (including those created as a result of reorganisation) at 25 million euro (equivalent). Previously, the amount was set at five million euro.

Deputy Chairman of the Board of the National Bank, Sergei Dubkov, stated that the increase was aimed at strengthening the responsibility of investors for the quality of banking services, as well as at protecting the Belarusian banking market from non-transparent capital.

Adoption of the Resolution also contributed to harmonisation of national laws with the legal framework of the Common Economic Area. The minimal amount of authorised capital of banks in Kazakhstan and Russia is 26 million euro and 7.2 million euro respectively.