Minimum wage employees in Colorado will get a raise in the new year. The state minimum wage goes up by ninety cents per hour, from the current $9.30 to $10.20, beginning January 1, 2018.
Annual Increases Approved By Voters In 2016
The upcoming minimum wage increase is the result of a ballot effort last year to increase Colorado’s minimum wage to $12 per hour by 2020. In the November 2016 election, Colorado voters approved Amendment 70 which raises the state’s hourly minimum wage by 90 cents per hour each year, as follows:
- $10.20 effective 1/1/18
- $11.10 effective 1/1/19
- $12.00 effective 1/1/20
After 2020, annual cost-of-living increases will be made to the mandatory minimum wage.
Under Colorado law, employers may take a tip credit of $3.02 off the full minimum wage for employees who regularly receive tips. Consequently, the minimum wage that must be paid to tipped workers will go up by 90 cents on January 1, 2018 as well. The applicable minimum wage for tipped workers for upcoming years is as follows:
- $7.18 effective 1/1/18
- $8.08 effective 1/1/19
- $8.98 effective 1/1/20
Remember that if tips combined with wages does not equal the state minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference in cash wages.
Take steps now to ensure that your payroll system is ready to comply with the increased minimum wage beginning January 1.