Defra submitted on 29 August two new land-based sites and five new marine sites to the European Commission as candidate Special Areas of Conservation (cSAC). The sites are Bolton Fell Moss in Cumbria, the River Faughan and its tributaries in Northern Ireland and five new offshore marine sites: Braemar Pockmarks, Darwin Mounds, Haig Fras, Scanner Pockmarks, and Stanton Banks. In addition the UK has submitted an extension to the Meirionnydd Oak Woods and Bat site in Wales and amendments to information held by the European Commission on four existing terrestrial sites in Scotland: Shelforkie, Crieff Woods, East Mires & Lumbister, and Ben Lawers.