Arkansas Water Personnel Moves: Bruce Holland Named Arkansas Natural Resources Commission Executive Director

Mr. Bruce Holland has been named Executive Director of the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission (“Commission”).

As noted in a previous post, Randy Young retired as Executive Director after 40 years with the Commission. Read the previous post here.

The ANRC establishes policy and makes funding and regulatory decisions relative to soil conservation, nutrient management, water rights, dam safety and water resources planning and development. It is governed by nine Commission members appointed by the governor. The Executive Director is appointed by and serves at the will of the Governor.

Mr. Holland formerly served as a State Senator from District 6 which is comprised of Scott County and parts of Johnson, Logan, Polk, and Sebastian Counties. During the Arkansas General Assembly he served as Vice Chairman of the Arkansas Legislative Council Peer Review Subcommittee and was a member on Arkansas Legislative Council (“ALC”); Legislative Joint Auditing; ALC-Review; Senate Education; Senate Transportation, Technology and Legislative Affairs; Joint Energy; ALC-Higher Education Subcommittee; ALC-Policymaking; Legislative Joint Auditing-Educational Institutions of Academic Facilities Oversight Committee. He also served as Chairman of the Senate Agriculture, Forestry and Economic Development Committee.

Mr. Holland is a cattleman and rancher. He attended the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and majored in Chemical Engineering.

A copy of a news release from Governor Hutchinson’s office quoting the Governor, Bruce Holland and retiring Executive Director Randy Young can be downloaded here.