The 19 July has seen some further lifting of travel restrictions for UK residents.

Any UK residents that have been fully vaccinated by the UK’s NHS vaccination programme or as part of the UK’s vaccine programme overseas are now able to benefit from eased travel restrictions and are no longer required to quarantine on arrival in the UK from amber list countries if double-vaccinated. To be eligible to avoid quarantine, individuals must have had their second vaccination a minimum of 14 days prior to arrival in the UK (NB. the day you had your second dose does not count as one of the 14 days). Individuals that are not fully vaccinated must quarantine for either 10 full days (11 nights) or for five days if using the ‘Test to Release’ scheme.

Even if you are not required to quarantine on arrival you are still required to: (1) take a pre-departure COVID test prior to travel back to the UK and (2) purchase a Travel Test package and take a private COVID-19 PCR test on day two after arriving in the UK.

Countries added to the red list from 19 July:

  1. Cuba
  2. Indonesia
  3. Myanmar
  4. Sierra Leone.

A red-list rating prevents visitors from these countries arriving in the UK and direct travel routes are suspended. British/Irish nationals or those with UK residence rights will still be able to enter but will be subject to Government managed quarantine in hotel facilities.

Countries added back to the amber list from 19 July:

  1. Balearic Islands (NB. The Canary Islands/mainland Spain are already amber-listed)

Countries added to the Green list from 19th July:

  1. Bulgaria
  2. Croatia
  3. Hong Kong
  4. Taiwan.

UK residents returning from France

Despite France being amber-listed, the Government have applied stronger restrictions and quarantine on return to the UK is mandatory for 10 days, regardless of whether or not you have been vaccinated by the UK vaccination programme.