On Tuesday, October 17, 2017 Hawaii Federal District Court Judge Derrick K. Watson issued a ruling applicable to the entire United States, blocking most of President Trump’s latest travel ban that was scheduled to go into effect tomorrow, October 18, 2017.

As we reported here, the newest travel ban is indefinite, and seeks to bar the entry into the U.S. of certain citizens of Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuela. (See our previous alert to review the exact nature of the ban for each of these countries.) It also requires enhanced screening of Iraqis before they can enter the U.S.

In today’s order, the Hawaii court left in place the ban against North Korea and Venezuela, but blocked the ban against Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.

It is widely expected that the Trump Administration will fight this temporary restraining order. As happened with the prior travel ban, the litigation regarding this newest travel ban could well advance up to the Supreme Court.