Arias created an interdisciplinary task force with the participation of different practice areas, that is monitoring and informing about measures taken by the Government to mitigate the impact of COVID 19.

The Government of Costa Rica announced today the following measures:

Opening phase (orange alert and yellow alert areas)

  • From August 1 through August 9, and from August 22 through August 30.
  • Most establishments with sanitary permits are allowed to operate nationwide:
    • Home service and to go services.
    • Supermarkets and grocery stores.
    • Pharmacies and health centers
    • Banking and financial services
    • Laundries, hardware stores, locksmiths, stained glass supplies
    • Agricultural, livestock, fishing and aquaculture products
    • Veterinary products, hygiene supplies
    • National parks
    • Hotels
    • Parking lots
    • Cinemas, theaters and museums
    • Gyms and sports facilities
    • Restaurants
    • Shops
    • Click here to see full list: and
  • Vehicle restriction remains the same as this week in both zones under orange and yellow alert.

Closing phase (orange alert areas)

  • From August 10 through August 21
  • Total closure of commercial establishments in cantons under an orange alert:
    • Only home service and to go services will be allowed.
    • The following establishments are allowed to open: supermarkets, grocery stores, pharmacies, health centers, banking and financial services, laundries, hardware stores, locksmiths, stained glass supplies, sale of agricultural, livestock, fishing and aquaculture products, veterinary and hygiene supplies, national parks and hotels. Click here to see full list:
  • Vehicle circulation is restricted to one day per week and one day during the weekend, just like on Easter.

Cantons under orange alert

  • San Jose Province: Alajuelita, Aserri, Curridabat, Desamparados, Escazu, Goicoechea, Montes de Oca, Mora, Moravia, San Jose, Santa Ana, Tibas and Vazquez de Coronado.
  • Alajuela Province: Alajuela, Naranjo and Poas.
  • Heredia Province: Barva, Flores, Heredia, San Isidro, San Pablo, San Rafael and Santo Domingo.
  • Cartago Province: La Union.
  • Puntarenas Province: Corredores, Coto Brus (Agua Buena and Sabalito districts), Golfito (Pavon district), Puntarenas (Barranca and Chacarita districts).

Opening of borders

Clarifications provided by the General Directorate of Migration and Foreign Affairs:

  • Passengers can travel to one of the authorized countries and then come to Costa Rica, as long as he or she stays in the authorized country for at least 14 days without COVID-19 symptoms.
  • Tourists shall meet the following requirements:
    • A travel insurance that covers medical expenses for at least US$20,000 (twenty thousand dollars) and isolation costs (lodging) for at least US$4,000 (four thousand dollars). This insurance must cover medical expenses generated by illness of COVID-19 and must be the travel insurance offered by the Costa Rican National Insurance Institute.
    • Negative test for COVID-19. The test must be taken within 48 hours before the passenger travels to Costa Rica.
    • Filling out the digital form called Health Pass (“Pase de Salud”), available at the following address:
  • Costa Rican citizens and residents in Costa Rica who return to Costa Rica from any country shall only need to complete the Health Pass and will not have to provide negative test of COVID-19 or travel insurance, but they won’t be able to leave home (self-isolation) for 14 days.
  • All permanent residents and/or temporary residents in Costa Rica, upon showing a valid DIMEX (active residence), may enter the country as long as their entry is by air from one of the authorized destinations, and as long as they have remained in that country for at least 14 days. This also applies to persons with permanent or temporary residency and who left after March 23. They may not enter Costa Rica by land or sea.