On September 29th, the Treasury Department announced that President Obama has signed an Executive Order imposing sanctions on eight Iranian officials determined to be responsible for or complicit in serious human rights abuses involving Iran. As a result of this action any property in the United States or in the possession or control of U.S. persons in which the named individuals have an interest is blocked, and U.S. persons are prohibited from engaging in transactions with them. Treasury Department Press Release.