On 28 February 2017, the Hon. Julie Bishop, Minister for Foreign Affairs, announced that she is proposing new and expanded autonomous sanctions in response to North Korea’s reckless and dangerous nuclear and ballistic missile programs. The announcement said:

The Australian Government joined the international community in condemning North Korea’s latest ballistic missile test on 12 February 2017. It followed an unprecedented rate of provocations in 2016 including two nuclear tests and more than 20 ballistic missile tests.

The proposed new sanctions will target North Korea’s extractives industry and its vessels, building on the tough sanctions we already have in place.

Over the past six months, I have designated nine new persons and entities and re-designated 18 persons and entities for targeted financial sanctions and travel bans for their association with North Korea’s weapons of mass destruction and missile programs.

The Australian Government’s autonomous sanctions complement the strong measures adopted by the UN Security Council and the autonomous measures of our partners, including the Republic of Korea, Japan, and the United States.

These proposed new measures are contained in the draft Autonomous Sanctions Amendment (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Regulations 2017 and the draft Autonomous Sanctions (Sanctioned Vessels – Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) Amendment Designation 2017. Public comment on the proposals is being solicited.