On 1 August 2017, Estonia became the 13th country to ratify the Unified Patent Court Agreement (UPCA) when it deposited its instrument of ratification with the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU. All the countries in the Nordic-Baltic Regional Division have now either ratified, completed the formalities for ratification, or are otherwise all but ready to ratify. The UK and Germany still need to ratify the Agreement before the UPC can come into being.