On May 15, Secretary Kerry travelled from Stockholm to Kiruna, Sweden to participate in the Arctic Council ministerial meeting on climate change. The talk focused on the reduction of short-lived carbon emissions and the development of oil spill cleanup procedures. Participants signed the Kiruna Declaration reaffirming their commitment to the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change’s goal of creating long-term solutions by 2015. Members received reports on biodiversity, marine, and ocean acidification trends. They formed a task force to create black carbon emissions reduction strategies to be presented in 2015. The meeting signified the end of the chairmanship of Sweden of the Arctic Council; Canada will chair the council for the next two years, and the U.S. will become the chair in 2015. Along with Sweden and the U.S., participants in the Arctic Council include Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and six international organizations representing indigenous people in addition to observer states like China, India, and Japan.