Effective January 1, 2013 certain states have E-Verify triggers.  Ring in the new year by enrolling in E-Verify, the electronic employment eligibility program, in the following states:

  • North Carolina — Employers that employ 100 or more but less than 500 employees must use E-Verify. (HB 36)
  • Tennessee – Employers with between six and 199 employees must use E-Verify or maintain certain documents for employees.  In addition, employers with independent contractors must maintain certain documents for those individuals. (SB 1669/HB1378)

In a slight variation to the above which applies to private employers, Pennsylvania will require all contractors and subcontractors on public works projects with the State of Pennsylvania to use E-Verify for all newly hired employees, effective January 1, 2013. (Senate Bill 637)

Failure to enroll in E-Verify at the state level can lead to warning letters and escalate to civil penalties, as well as debarment in instances where public works contracts are involved.