Notwithstanding the recent passage of legislation that postpones the digital television (DTV) transition deadline until June 12, nearly 40% of the nation’s local television broadcasters have notified the FCC of their plans to terminate analog signal service effective on February 17, the original DTV conversion date. On Tuesday, the FCC issued a list of 491 facilities out of 1,796 full-power TV stations nationwide that, as of Monday, have already terminated analog signal service or have informed the agency of their intention to do so by February 17. Encompassing mainly small and medium-size markets, the list includes localities, such as Oklahoma City, Charleston and Greenville, South Carolina, Dayton, Ohio, Lubbock, Texas, and Bakersfield, California, that would lose most or all of their major network signals in analog format on February 17. Although Congress adopted the DTV Delay Act to give consumers on the NTIA coupon wait list additional time to procure DTV converter boxes, consumer groups and FCC officials fear the decision of the listed broadcasters to cut analog signal service early could still leave many of these consumers without access to local channels. (According to the Nielsen Co., as many as six million U.S. households out of the 20 million that rely exclusively on over-the-air broadcast television service remain unprepared for the DTV transition.) In notifying the FCC of their intentions, many of the listed broadcasters cited the financial burden of continuing both analog and digital broadcasts through June 12. As officials confirmed that the FCC is considering denying the requests of some stations to switch early, FCC Commissioner Robert McDowell explained: “it’s important to understand that, while a significant number of broadcasters want to shut off their signals early for economic reasons, the FCC will work hard to ensure entire markets aren’t blocked out.” The agency is also requiring stations on the early switch-off list to announce their plans to viewers through website and on-air promotions.