The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine has recently adopted Resolution No. 567, introducing new rules for the issuance of Ukrainian visas and temporary residence permits.

The amendments will enter into force on 11 September 2011 and provide for only 3 types of visas:

  1. transit (type B);
  2. short-term (type C); and
  3. long-term (type D).

The transit visa (type B) is issued for one, two or multiple entries for up to 1 year for an individual’s transit or the transit of baggage or passengers by automotive transport, and allows for a stay in the territory of Ukraine for up to 5 days during each transit.

The short-term visa (type C) is issued for individuals who intend to stay in Ukraine for up to 90 days within 180 days from the date of first entry. This visa may be issued for one, two or multiple entries for the duration indicated in the application but not exceeding five years. This type of visa will be issued for all short term visit purposes, including tourist, private, business, and medical, based on a correspondent invitation or other document which justifies the purpose of the visit. Family members of Ukrainian citizens or foreigners that have a temporary or permanent residence permit shall submit documents proving their family connection (e.g. marriage certificate) instead of the invitation.

The long-term visa (D) is issued to individuals entering Ukraine with the purpose staying for more than 90 days. Such visa is issued to individuals who are:

  1. studying in Ukraine;
  2. working in Ukraine pursuant to a work permit;
  3. working at a representative office of a foreign company or a representative office or a branch of a foreign bank;
  4. working in diplomatic missions or consulates of foreign countries and international organizations and their representative offices, and their family members;
  5. working in religious organizations, representative office, department or a branch of foreign NGOs or participating in international technical aid projects;
  6. working in Ukraine as foreign correspondents or representatives of a foreign mass media, and their family members;
  7. immigrating to Ukraine pursuant to an immigration permit or are reuniting with their family members who obtained refugee status in Ukraine; or
  8. participating in the Euro 2012 preparation.

In addition to the foreigners working in Ukraine pursuant to a work permit, the temporary residence permit will now be issued to D-visa holders who are working in representative offices of foreign companies, foreign banks, foreign NGOs as well as those working in religious organisations and on international technical aid projects.

Other cases for issuance of long-term visa and temporary residence permit may be stipulated by the international agreements of Ukraine.

The visa issuance will be subject to the following consular fees:

  • 85 USD for a single-entry visa;
  • 130 USD for a double-entry visa; and
  • 200 USD for a multi-entry visa. 

Visa application shall be considered within 15 calendar days. This term may be extended to 30 days in the case where a further investigation is needed. The expedited issuance of a visa will be subject to a double consular fee rate.

Law: Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine No. 567 of 1 June 2011 “On Adoption of the Rules for Issuing Visas for Entrance into and Transit Through the Territory of Ukraine”.