Tennessee Senate Republicans convened on Monday, December 3, 2018 to elect their new leaders. Lt. Governor Randy McNally (Oak Ridge) was unopposed for reelection as speaker and won the caucus nomination. Sen. Jack Johnson (Franklin) was elected as the new Majority Leader. Johnson replaces former Sen. Mark Norris (Collierville), who was recently confirmed to a federal judgeship. The caucus also elected Sen. Ken Yager (Kingston) as Caucus Chair. Yager replaces former Sen. Bill Ketron (Murfreesboro), who is now the Rutherford County Mayor.

The 111th General Assembly will convene on January 8, 2019, and the Senate will formally elect Lt. Governor McNally as its speaker. The Republicans hold a 27-5 supermajority over the Democrats. The speaker will be responsible for selecting the chairs of all of the Senate committees. With Johnson and Yager being elected as Majority Leader and Caucus Chair, the powerful Senate Commerce and Labor and Senate State and Local committees will require new chairs for the new legislative session.