On April 18, the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee voted to approve the nomination of Dr. Ernest Moniz to be Secretary of Energy by a vote of 21-1. Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC) was the only vote in opposition to the nomination; he cited the administration’s plan to cut funding by $200 million to reprocess weapons-grade plutonium as the reason he voted against the nomination. Chairman Ron Wyden (D-OR) said he anticipates the full Senate will vote on the nomination the week of April 22; it is expected that Dr. Moniz will be confirmed.