Representative Doc Hastings (R-WA), chairman of the House Natural Resources Committee, named subcommittee chairmen December 20 for the coming Congress and expanded the scope of the National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands Subcommittee to direct more attention to the National Environmental Policy Act, renaming it the Public Lands and Environmental Regulation Subcommittee. All five chairmen from the 112th Congress were reappointed.