The Government has published the first National Infrastructure Plan (NIP). The NIP analyses the major infrastructure needed in the UK; describes policy and regulatory changes proposed to encourage infrastructure investment; and sets out specific steps the government is taking.

The NIP proposes development in five areas:

  • Energy infrastructure
  • Transport infrastructure
  • Digital communications
  • Flood management water and waste
  • Intellectual capital