The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee approved June 21 Allison Macfarlane to be the Nuclear Regulatory Commission chairman and Kristine Svinicki to serve a second term on the commission. The Senate is expected to vote on the nominees at the end of this week.

Commerce Secretary John Bryson resigned as Commerce Secretary June 21, citing the effects of a seizure he suffered while driving on June 9. Deputy Secretary Rebecca Blank is serving as acting secretary.