On May 7, 2009, the USCIS announced that automatic revalidation was not available to nationals of Iran, Syria, Sudan and Cuba. Automatic Revalidation applies to the expired nonimmigrant visas of aliens who have been out of the U.S. for thirty days or less in contiguous territories (Canada and Mexico). The U.S. Department of State confirmed that if a citizen of Iran, Syria, Sudan or Cuba travels to a contiguous territory for a day and has an expired visa, but a valid extension approval notice of status, he will need to obtain a visa to return to the U.S. F-1 and J-1 students are eligible for automatic revalidation if they travel to contiguous territories and adjacent islands other than Cuba. M-1 students can only apply for automatic revalidation readmission after an absence of less than 30 days solely from contiguous territories. A Nonimmigrant who is eligible for readmission under the automatic revalidation provisions may not be readmitted if he or she applied for a new visa and the decision is pending or the nonimmigrant's visa application has been denied.