The Governments of Ontario and Quebec announced on May 20, 2011 that they have signed the new multi-jurisdictional agreement with respect to the regulation of pension plans that has been the subject of negotiation and drafting for a number of years.  The agreement between Ontario and Quebec comes into force on July 1, 2011 and replaces the existing Memorandum of Reciprocal Agreement (the”MRA”) that has been in place since 1968.  The Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities has stated that it expects the remaining jurisdictions to sign the agreement sometime in 2011 or as soon as possible thereafter.  In the meantime, the MRA will remain in effect for those jurisdictions who have not yet signed the new agreement.