Senator David Vitter (R-LA) introduced legislation (S. 163) January 28 to prohibit any regulation regarding domestic CO2 or other greenhouse gas emissions reduction until China, India, and Russia implement similar reductions.

The following day, Senator Vitter introduced legislation (S. 167) to suspend sales of petroleum products from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve until the president approves the Keystone XL pipeline; and S. 176 to reject the final 5-year Outer Continental Shelf Oil and Gas Leasing Program for fiscal years 2013 through 2018 of the Administration and revert it to the five-year plan scheduled under former President George W. Bush.

Alaskan Senators Lisa Murkowski (R) and Mark Begich (D) introduced legislation (S. 181) January 30 to authorize the establishment of the Niblack and Bokan Mountain mining area road corridors in the state; and a measure (S. 182) to provide for the unencumbering of title to non-Federal land owned by Anchorage, Alaska, for economy development purposes by conveyance of the Federal reversion interest to the city.

A bipartisan group of 11 senators led by Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) introduced legislation (S. 192) January 31 to eliminate restrictions in current law on exports of liquefied natural gas. The Expedited LNG for American Allies Act would amend the Natural Gas Act to streamline the Department of Energy’s export license review process.

The same day, Senator Begich introduced legislation (S. 199) to amend the Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act to require that oil produced from Federal leases in certain Arctic waters be transported by pipeline to onshore facilities and to provide for the sharing of certain outer Continental Shelf revenues from areas in the Alaska Adjacent Zone.