The Conference of State Bank Supervisors recently announced that starting in April 2012, the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) will be expanding to administer additional non-mortgage license types. The following states have agreed to transition certain licenses onto the NMLS in 2012: D.C., Idaho, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Rhode Island,Tennessee, Vermont, and Washington.

Limited information has been released by the states regarding which license types will be impacted, and when. The Massachusetts Division of Banks recently announced that Debt Collectors, Small Loan Companies, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies, Retail Installment Sales Finance Companies, Insurance Premium Finance Companies, Check Cashers, Check Sellers, and Foreign Transmittal Agencies will be required to complete a record in the NMLS.