On 18 December 2012, the European Commission published Regulation 1213/2012 listing the GSP product sectors that will be “graduated” (i.e. not receive GSP preferences) under the new EU GSP regime when originating in certain countries. The countries for which certain product sectors will be graduated are China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Nigeria, Ukraine and Thailand. Some product sectors are already graduated under the current GSP scheme; for the “added” sectors, preferential GSP duties will no longer be available from 1 January 2014.

The Commission further issued two draft delegated acts under the new EU GSP regime, which are now subject to scrutiny and possible blocking by the Council or EP. The first proposal removes (as from one year after entry into force of the act) Iran and Azerbaijan from the list of GSP beneficiary countries based on their World Bank classification as upper-middle income countries. The second draft act lays down the procedures for applications by GSP beneficiaries to obtain GSP+ status.