As of January 1, 2014, the minimum wage in Rhode Island will jump $0.25 to $8.00 per hour. This is the second time in as many years that the General Assembly has voted to raise the minimum wage. The last increase occurred in January 2013, when the rate went from $7.40 to $7.75 per hour. The hike is viewed by some as a compromise measure for legislation that will allow employers to pay their employees bi-monthly as opposed to weekly.
Register now for your free, tailored, daily legal newsfeed service.
Questions? Please contact firstname.lastname@example.orgRegister
Rhode Island raises the minimum wage
Popular articles from this firm
If you would like to learn how Lexology can drive your content marketing strategy forward, please email email@example.com.
Related topic hubs
“I enjoy the CLANZ newsstand and find it highly relevant to my job. I definitely have forwarded various articles to my colleagues on occasion where there is a point of general interest, particularly employment or IT law. I really appreciate the service, it's a quick way for me to keep up to date in a way I wouldn't otherwise have time to.”