On September 13th, 2016, Decree No. 39864-RREE was published in the Official Gazette, ratifying the Doha Amendment to the Kyoto Protocol. The Amendment establishes the second commitment period of the Protocol, which legally binds developed countries to emission reduction targets. The first commitment period started in 2008 and ended in 2012, and the second runs from 2013 to 2020.