The federal minimum wage will increase by 70 cents on Friday, July 24, 2009. That means employees who are covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) will be entitled to pay at no less than $7.25 per hour.
The minimum wage increase affects workers in the following states, which either have minimum wages that are currently at or below the federal minimum wage or have no state-mandated minimum wage: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. The increase also affects workers in the District of Columbia, where the minimum wage is required to be $1.00 more than the federal minimum wage.
Also be sure to update your FLSA postings. Every employer of workers subject to the FLSA's minimum wage provisions must post in a conspicuous place a notice explaining the FLSA. Posters and other compliance assistance materials are available from the Department of Labor's Wage & Hour Division and may also be obtained from the Agency's Web site at http://www.wagehour.dol.gov.
Employers should contact legal counsel with questions on the minimum wage increase or other compliance issues.