The next to final stage in establishing a unitary patent system across the EU was reached on 19 February 2013, when the Unified Patent Court (UPC) agreement was signed in Brussels. All EU member states, apart from Poland and Spain, have signed the agreement and are now preparing to ratify it. In order for the agreement to enter into force, it must still be ratified by at least 13 member states, after which the UPC will have jurisdiction over the new unitary patents as well as European patents. The European Commission expects the unitary patent system to be up and running by April 2014.