On 18 September 2017, EU Trade Commissioner Cecilia Malmstrm during the United Nations General Assembly Week launched the Alliance for Torture-Free Trade, a joint initiative with Argentina and Mongolia, with 58 participating countries, and which aims to stop trade in goods used to carry out the death penalty and to commit torture. These countries signed a joint political declaration listing four action points: (a) take measures to control/restrict exports of these goods, (b) equip customs authorities with appropriate tools, (c) provide technical assistance to help countries adopt and implement laws to ban this trade, and (d) exchange best practices for efficient control and enforcement.