On March 6, 2022, Canada announced a new round of sanctions against Russia imposed under the Special Economic Measures Act by way of amendment to the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (“Russia Regulations”). Recently, we wrote about Canada’s sanctions as a result of the ongoing Russian-Ukrainian conflict. (See Canada Imposes Additional Sanctions Against Russia and Ukraine)

The March 6, 2022 amendments to the Russia Regulations add the following to a growing list of sanctions:

  • 10 more individuals were added to the list of individuals that are subject to a general dealing prohibition.
  • The Canadian Prime Minister indicated that the names of these individuals come from a list compiled by jailed opposition leader Alexei Navalny and includes former and current senior government officials, oligarchs and supporters of the Russian leadership. Specifically, Schedule 1 of the Russia Regulations added the following names:
    • Mikhail Albertovich MURASHKO (born in 1967)
    • Dmitry Nikolayevich PATRUSHEV (born in 1977)
    • Vladimir Rudolfovich SOLOVYOV (born in 1963)
    • Margarita Simonovna SIMONYAN (born in 1980)
    • Oleg Vladimirovich DERIPASKA (born in 1968)
    • Pavel Vladimirovich KRASHENINNIKOV (born in 1964)
    • Victor Evdokimovich GAVRILOV
    • Dmitry IVANOV
    • Konstantin Lvovich ERNST (born in 1961)
    • Dmitry Sergeyevich PESKOV (born in 1967)
  • Canada also prohibited ships registered in Russia from docking in Canada or passing through Canadian waters when they are used, leased or chartered, in whole or in part, by or for Russia, a person in Russia or a designated person. The only exception to such docking or passage is necessary to safeguard human life or to ensure navigational safety.