On 2 June 2014, the UN Security Council added three entities to the Al Qaida Sanctions List of individuals and entities subject to the asset freeze, travel ban and arms embargo set out under Security Council Resolution 2083 (2012). The entities, all associated with the Organization of Al-Qaida in the Islamic Maghreb and active in the Sahel-Sahara region of North Africa, are Al Mouakaoune Biddam, Al Moulathamoun and Al Mourabitoun.

The UN Security Council also removed from the List Jainal Antel Sali Jr. and Mohammad Ilyas Kashmiri, who died in 2007 and 2011 respectively.

Security Council Resolution 2083 (2012)

Updated Al-Qaida Sanctions List