On 22 August 2013, the Ministry of Commerce announced that the State Council had formally approved the establishment of the China (Shanghai) Free Trade Zone.

Covering 28,78 square kilometers, the new zone will be built on the basis of the existing bonded zones: Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone, Waigaoqiao Free Trade Logistics Park, Yangshan Free Trade Port Area and Pudong Airport Comprehensive Free Trade Zone.

Details are expected to be announced in the coming weeks.

Date: August 22, 2013