In May 2014, Michigan enacted a law that gradually increases the minimum wage from $7.40 to $9.25 per hour by January 1, 2018. On Jan. 1, 2018, the minimum hourly wage for employees will increase by 35 cents, from $8.90 to $9.25 per hour.
The minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $3.38 to $3.52 per hour. Tipped employees must earn $9.25 per hour with gratuities and regular wages taken into account. If the gratuities plus the tipped employee minimum hourly wage rate do not equal or exceed the minimum hourly wage, then the employer pays any shortfall to the employee.
Additional information is available on the State of Michigan’s Department and Regulatory Affairs website.