The Japan Patent Office has reported that the Chinese trade mark authorities, responding to a request from Tokyo, rejected applications to register eight prefectural names in Japan as brands for agricultural and other products. This decision reflects a change in China's stance on the registration of Japanese prefectural and city names without consent.

The eight prefecture names in question are Nagano, Shizuoka, Kyoto, Nara, Hiroshima, Kagawa, Fukuoka and Kagoshima.

It has been reported that an increasing number of individuals and companies in China have been trying to register Japanese prefectural and city names as brands for beverages, drugs, clothing and other products.