On April 5th, San Francisco became the first U.S. city to mandate paid parental leave to allow parents to bond with their children. California already has a statutory scheme under which employees would get partially paid parental leave through the California Disability Insurance Program. Therefore, California employers are required to pay employees 55% of their regular pay up to a cap of $1,129 per week for parental leave. Under the ordinance passed by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, effective January 1, 2017, employers who have 50 or more employees will have to make up the difference between what the employees would get under the California statutory parental leave benefit, and what their regular pay would be for a maximum of six weeks. In order to be eligible for this particular benefit, employees must have worked for their employer for 180 days before the leave period. Interestingly, this benefit will cover part-time employees as well as temporary employees. Under this ordinance, employers who do not comply with the newly enacted law are subject to a private right of action on behalf of the employee which includes restitution, liquidated damages, injunctive relief and attorneys’ fees. The statute does allow an employer to apply two weeks of paid PTO to the six weeks of leave. If an employee is terminated while she is entitled to the six weeks of leave, she is still entitled to the six weeks of leave, irrespective of the fact that she may have been terminated by the employer. While this legislation may seem outlandish to East Coast companies, it is in alignment with California’s pro-employee statutory scheme and could very well be emulated by East Coast employers in upcoming years.