On March 21st, 2019 the National Migration Authority issued various regulations of the Migration Code, Decree Number 44-2016 of the Congress of the Republic, as detailed below:

  • National Migration Authority Agreement No. 2-2019 - Regulation of the procedure for the protection, determination and recognition of refugee status in the State of Guatemala.
  • National Migration Authority Agreement No. 3-2019 - Regulation of Guatemalan Visas.
  • National Migration Authority Agreement No. 4-2019 - Regulation of Guatemalan Residences.

These regulations will take effect 30 days after their publication, that is, from April 19th, 2019. The new regulations develop the procedures, requirements and specific obligations to be fulfilled in each type of visa and residences for the entry and stay of foreigners in Guatemalan territory.

Submitted applications and that are process before the Aliens Sub-Directorate, as well as the documents that currently grant foreigners the status of "temporary resident" or "permanent resident" will remain in effect, so they are fully valid in Guatemala. However, as of April 19th, 2019, all applications will be governed by the new regulations.