On September 10, 2016 the Russian Government issued Decree No. 897 extending its food embargo list to include salt and sea water classified under HS code 2501 00 (i.e., “Salt (including table salt and denatured salt) and pure sodium chloride, whether or not in aqueous solution, or containing added anti-caking or free flowing agents; sea water”). The limitation should come into force on November 1, 2016.

The food embargo was initially introduced on August 7, 2014 and currently applies to specific food products originating from the US, EU, Canada, Australia, Norway, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, Lichtenstein and Ukraine.

The information was published on the website of the Russian Government at: http://publication.pravo.gov.ru/Document/View/0001201609130004.