Below are the minimum hourly wage rates for some states and localities effective January 1, 2011:

Arizona - Regular minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $7.35 per hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $4.25 to $4.35 per hour.

Montana - Minimum wage increases from $7.25 to $7.35 per hour. (Montana law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Ohio - Regular minimum wage increases from $7.30 to $7.40 per hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.65 to $3.70 per hour.

Oregon - Minimum wage increases from $8.40 to $8.50 per hour. (Oregon law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Vermont - Regular minimum wage increases from $8.06 to $8.15 per hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees increases from $3.91 to $3.95 per hour.

Washington - Minimum wage increases from $8.55 to $8.67 per hour. (Washington law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.)

Other States and Municipalities

Colorado has pending legislation to increase the minimum wage from $7.24 to $7.36 per hour for non-tipped employees, and from $4.22 to $4.34 per hour for tipped employees. A final measure should be ready later this month. Colorado employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act already are required to pay the higher federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour.

Florida and Missouri have announced that they will not be increasing their minimum wage rates in 2011. Florida's minimum wage will remain $7.25 per hour ($4.23 per hour for tipped employees), and Missouri's minimum wage will remain $7.25 per hour ($3.63 per hour for tipped employees).

San Francisco will increase its minimum wage from $9.79 to $9.92 per hour.

If a minimum compensation rate for a state or municipality is higher than the federal minimum rate, then the higher rate must be paid.