According to a statement made by the Directorate General of Customs of the Ministry of Commerce on 21.02.2020, private banks may no longer collect tax duties related to imports such as customs duties, VAT, payments to housing development funds, compensatory tax, and import charges.

In this regard, protocols signed between the Ministry of Commerce, the Ministry of Treasury and Finance, and private banks have been terminated and the banks' authority to collect import taxes and payments has been revoked. Banks were notified of this change on 21.02.2020 and the restriction will become effective one month after this notification (i.e., 21.03.2020).

Following the termination date, private banks may no longer collect import taxes or payments via their headquarters, branches, online banking, ATMs, telephone banking, or by other banking methods.

The following state-owned banks will continue collecting import taxes and payments based on their ongoing protocols:

  • T.C. Ziraat Bankasi A..,
  • Trkiye Halk Bankasi A..,
  • Trkiye Vakiflar Bankasi T.A.O.,
  • Ziraat Katilim Bankasi A.., and
  • Vakif Katilim Bankasi A..