The EU has extended sanctions aimed at individuals and entities responsible for taking actions against Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence. The sanctions, which were initially enacted on 17 March 2014 (see Issue 15 of the Sanctions Alert), have been extended for a further 6 months until 15 March 2016. A total of 149 persons and 37 entities are subject to the asset freeze and travel ban under the sanctions, including Russian ministers, military figures and organisations connected with the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics.

The sanctions were renewed by Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1524 amending Council Decision 2014/145/CFSP and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1514 implementing Council Regulation (EU) 269/2014. The same regulations removed one deceased person from the list.

These asset freezes apply in parallel to the wider industry-specific sanctions set out in Council Regulation (EU) 833/2014, which remain in force until 31 January 2016 (see Issue 40 of the Sanctions Alert).