The Canadian Department of the Environment (DOE or Environment Canada) has published a notice that requires industrial facilities to report their 2010 specified greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. The data, directed for submission under section 46(i) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, are intended to help DOE conduct research, establish an emissions inventory, formulate objectives and codes of practice, issue guidelines, and report on the state of the environment.  

The notice, which specifies exactly what must be reported, applies to emissions of carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, sulfur hexafluoride, HFC-23, HFC-32, HFC-41, HFC-43-10mee, HFC-125, HFC-134, HFC-134a, HFC-143, HFC-143a, HFC-152a, HFC-227ea, HFC-236fa, HFC-245ca, perfluoromethane, perfluoroethane, perfluoropropane, perfluorobutane, perfluorocyclobutane, perfluorospentane, and perfluorohexane. The reporting deadline is June 1, 2011, and the notice applies to all persons who operate a facility that emits at least 50,000 tons of carbon dioxide equivalents of these GHGs. The Canadian government has pledged under the Copenhagen Accord that by 2020 it will reduce its overall GHG emissions 17 percent from 2005 levels. See Canada Gazette, August 14, 2010.