On July 19, the California High-Speed Rail Authority (CHSRA) and five federal agencies signed a memorandum of understanding, entitled “The Memorandum of Understanding for Achieving an Environmentally Sustainable High-Speed Train System for California.” The memorandum seeks to promote sustainability in the planed statewide system. The federal agencies that signed the memorandum were the Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Railroad Administration, Federal Transit Administration, Department of Transportation, and the Department of Housing and Urban Development. Five areas of collaboration are identified in the document: sustainable, livable communities; material selection, design, and construction; renewable energy and energy efficiency; water resources management; and a system-wide sustainability policy.