The Department of Communities and Local Government have published a letter to local authorities with details of the Eurocode system. An extract from the letter follows:

The structural Eurocodes are a set of standardised European design standards which provide a common approach to structural design across the EU. They are intended to remove potential barriers to trade that exist when countries have different design standards.

There are ten Eurocodes made up of 58 Parts that are being adopted in all EU Member States in 2010. Each Part is implemented nationally with a National Annex. These Annexes contain information on Nationally Determined Parameters to be used for the design of building and civil engineering works to be constructed in the country concerned, addressing for example particular national safety parameters, geographical and climatic conditions, and procedures.

Under an agreement between the European standardisation bodies, the national standards bodies including BSI for the UK will withdraw any conflicting national structural design standards by 31 March 2010.

In the UK BSI has published the Eurocode (EN) standards as British Standards (BS ENs). BSI has also published the National Annexes. The ten, with the number of Parts in each, are:

  • BS EN 1990 Basis of Structural Design 1 Part
  • BS EN 1991 Actions on Structures 10 Parts
  • BS EN 1992 Design of Concrete Structures 4 Parts
  • BS EN 1993 Design of Steel Structures 20 Parts
  • BS EN 1994 Design of Composite Structures 3 Parts
  • BS EN 1995 Design of Timber Structures 3 Parts
  • BS EN 1996 Design of Masonry Structures 4 Parts
  • BS EN 1997 Geotechnical Design 2 Parts
  • BS EN 1998 Design of Structures for Earthquake Resistance 6 Parts
  • BS EN 1999 Design of Aluminium Structures 5 Parts

For more information, see the British Standards Institute website.